Board of Directors

people-thumb100-partha-tirumalaiPartha Tirumalai, Oracle – Chair (through 2023)

Partha is an Architect in the Systems Group of Oracle Corporation. His interests are in processor architecture, optimizing and parallelizing compilers, application performance, and high performance computing systems. He has authored numerous papers and has received a number of patents in these areas. Prior to joining Oracle, he was a Distinguished Engineer at Sun Microsystems, and earlier worked as a Senior Research Scientist at Hewlett-Packard Laboratories. Partha holds a B. Tech degree in Electrical Engineering from I.I.T., Madras, and M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in Computer Science from Northwestern University.

Barbara Chapman, Stony Brook U. and Brookhaven National Lab (through 2021)

Barbara is a Professor of Applied Math and Statistics, and of Computer Science, at Stony Brook University. She also directs Computer Science and Mathematics at Brookhaven National Lab.  Her research interests encompass technologies and strategies for application development and deployment on large-scale computers, with a primary focus on parallel programming models and their implementation. She founded cOMPunity, Inc., in 2001 to facilitate researcher participation in the development of the OpenMP standard, and has been a member of the OpenMP Architecture Review Board since that time. Barbara holds a Ph.D. in Computer Science from Queen’s University of Belfast.

people-thumb100-josh-simonsJosh Simons, VMware, Inc (through 2023)

With over 20 years of experience in High Performance Computing, Josh currently leads an effort to bring the full value of virtualization to HPC. Previously, he was a Distinguished Engineer at Sun Microsystems with broad responsibilities for HPC direction and strategy. He joined Sun in 1996 from Thinking Machines Corporation, a pioneering company in the area of Massively Parallel Processors (MPPs), where he held a variety of technical positions. Josh has worked on developer tools for distributed parallel computing, including language and compiler design, scalable parallel debugger design and development, and MPI. He has also worked in the areas of 3D graphics, image processing, and realtime device control. Josh has an undergraduate degree in Engineering from Harvard College and a Masters in Computer Science from Harvard University. He has served as a member of the Board of Directors since 2002.


Duncan Poole (through 2022)

Duncan Poole is director of platform alliances, for NVIDIA’s Accelerated Computing Division. He is responsible for driving partnerships where engineering interfaces are adopted by external parties who are building tools for accelerated computing. This includes operating systems, compilers, profilers, debuggers, performance analysis tools, compute and communications libraries. Duncan is also the president of OpenACC, and responsible for NVIDIA’s membership in OpenMP. His goal is to encourage the adoption of accelerators by developers who want good performance and portability of their accelerated code.

Officers and Staff

people-thumb100-michael-klemmDr. Michael Klemm – CEO

Michael obtained an M.Sc. in Computer Science in 2003 and received a Doctor of Engineering degree (Dr.-Ing.) from the Friedrich-Alexander-University Erlangen-Nuremberg, Germany, in 2008. Michael Klemm works at the HPC Center of Excellence at AMD. His areas of interest include compiler construction, design of programming languages, parallel programming, and performance analysis and tuning. Michael joined the OpenMP organization in 2009.

Brian Wauchope, AMD – CFO

Brian is the Chief of Staff, Engineering Business Manager, and Director of Operations & PMO within the Radeon Technologies Group at AMD. As the CoS and EBM, Brian directs all aspects of financial attainment, strategic business and growth planning, staffing and continuous improvement. He also directs Operations in North America, China and India as well as the PMO for the Software organization. Previously, Brian was the Director of Engineering Excellence at Johnson Controls and directed Engineering Program Management.

Michela Taufer, The University of Tennessee – Secretary

Michela Taufer is an ACM Distinguished Scientist and holds the Jack Dongarra Professorship in High Performance Computing in the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville (UTK). She earned her undergraduate degrees in computer engineering from the University of Padova (Italy) and her doctoral degree in computer science from the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology or ETH (Switzerland). From 2003 to 2004, she was a La Jolla Interfaces in Science Training Program (LJIS) Postdoctoral Fellow at the University of California, San Diego (UCSD) and The Scripps Research Institute (TSRI), where she worked on interdisciplinary projects in computer systems and computational chemistry.

Matthijs van Waveren – Marketing Coordinator

Matthijs holds a PhD in Computational Physics from the University of Amsterdam. He has been involved with OpenMP since 2000, and was leader of the C/C++ language group in 2002. He contributed to a number of OpenMP features, amongst others the Fortran bindings. He has been OpenMP marketing coordinator since 2012, and is responsible for the press contacts. He also gives OpenMP trainings in Europe and Asia. He has received several SPECtacular awards from the Standard Performance Evaluation Corporation.


Bronis R. de Supinski – Chair of the Language Committee

Bronis R. de Supinski is the principal investigator and leader of the Exascale Computing Technlogies (ExaCT) project and the co-leader of the Advanced Simulation and Computing (ASC) program’s Application Development Environment and Performance Team (ADEPT) at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory (LLNL). He is also an Adjunct Associate Professor in the Department of Computer Science and Engineering at Texas A&M University. Bronis earned his Ph.D. in Computer Science from the University of Virginia in 1998 and he joined LLNL’s Center for Applied Scientific Computing (CASC) in July 1998. Currently, his projects include scalable debugging methods, investigations into mechanisms and tools to improve memory performance, applications of data mining techniques to tools for large-scale systems, resiliency techniques, a variety of optimization techniques and tools for MPI and several issues with OpenMP, including its memory model and tool support. He pursues the last set of topics as the Chair of the OpenMP Language Committee. Throughout his career, Bronis has won several awards, including the prestigious Gordon Bell Prize in 2005 and 2006.

Tim Lewis – Webmaster

Tim is a freelance digital marketing consultant, event manager and web designer, and lives near London, UK. He started work in the late 80’s working in the first bubble of AI and Experts systems before moving into 3D GPUs and then low-energy, high-performance computing. After four decades working for leading-edge technology companies Tim set-up his own consultancy business.

Kathleen Mattson – Marketing Communications Consultant

Kathleen has been in high-tech marketing communications for the last 25+ years, including marketing and technical writing and editing, self-publishing, design, web design and management, general marketing communications, program management, application design, and business development. She works with OpenMP on general marcom and bringing OpenMP to the Supercomputing show.

James Riordon – IT

James is a system administrator and web developer working out of Montreal, Canada.