people-thumb100-partha-tirumalaiPartha Tirumalai, Oracle – Chair (through 2023)

Partha is an Architect in the Systems Group of Oracle Corporation. His interests are in processor architecture, optimizing and parallelizing compilers, application performance, and high performance computing systems. He has authored numerous papers and has received a number of patents in these areas. Prior to joining Oracle, he was a Distinguished Engineer at Sun Microsystems, and earlier worked as a Senior Research Scientist at Hewlett-Packard Laboratories. Partha holds a B. Tech degree in Electrical Engineering from I.I.T., Madras, and M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in Computer Science from Northwestern University.

Barbara Chapman, Stony Brook U. and Brookhaven National Lab (through 2021)

Barbara is a Professor of Applied Math and Statistics, and of Computer Science, at Stony Brook University. She also directs Computer Science and Mathematics at Brookhaven National Lab.  Her research interests encompass technologies and strategies for application development and deployment on large-scale computers, with a primary focus on parallel programming models and their implementation. She founded cOMPunity, Inc., in 2001 to facilitate researcher participation in the development of the OpenMP standard, and has been a member of the OpenMP Architecture Review Board since that time. Barbara holds a Ph.D. in Computer Science from Queen’s University of Belfast.

people-thumb100-josh-simonsJosh Simons, VMware, Inc (through 2023)

With over 20 years of experience in High Performance Computing, Josh currently leads an effort to bring the full value of virtualization to HPC. Previously, he was a Distinguished Engineer at Sun Microsystems with broad responsibilities for HPC direction and strategy. He joined Sun in 1996 from Thinking Machines Corporation, a pioneering company in the area of Massively Parallel Processors (MPPs), where he held a variety of technical positions. Josh has worked on developer tools for distributed parallel computing, including language and compiler design, scalable parallel debugger design and development, and MPI. He has also worked in the areas of 3D graphics, image processing, and realtime device control. Josh has an undergraduate degree in Engineering from Harvard College and a Masters in Computer Science from Harvard University. He has served as a member of the Board of Directors since 2002.


Duncan Poole (through 2022)

Duncan Poole is director of platform alliances, for NVIDIA’s Accelerated Computing Division. He is responsible for driving partnerships where engineering interfaces are adopted by external parties who are building tools for accelerated computing. This includes operating systems, compilers, profilers, debuggers, performance analysis tools, compute and communications libraries. Duncan is also the president of OpenACC, and responsible for NVIDIA’s membership in OpenMP. His goal is to encourage the adoption of accelerators by developers who want good performance and portability of their accelerated code.

View Officers and Staff